Pay if Off 计划可以使 3 月 1 日至 15 日期间向 NYC DSS 支付的子女抚养费金额增加一倍:
逃脱 随时单击 X/Escape 按钮即可立即离开 familylegalcare.org。您将被重定向到 google.com。

亲子关系和亲子关系

关键术语的定义

出身 是作为父母的法律地位。

亲子鉴定 是父亲的法律地位。

确立亲子关系 是确定孩子合法父母的过程。

亲子关系判断 是确定儿童合法父母的法院命令。

血缘关系顺序 是确定孩子合法父亲的法院命令。

辅助生殖 指除性交之外的生育方式,例如代孕或体外受精(IVF)。

预期父母 是有意成为通过辅助生殖出生的孩子的合法父母的人。

什么是亲子关系?

出身 指合法建立父母与子女关系的过程。纽约法律现在承认组建家庭的方式有很多种。在纽约,家长们使用 协助的 再生产 现在可以确定亲子关系。辅助生殖是指除性交之外的生育方式,例如代孕或体外受精(IVF)。现在,法律允许已婚和未婚夫妇、同性和异性关系的父母以及单亲父母获得法院命令,声明他们是孩子的合法父母。

为了让法院确定使用辅助生殖的未婚父母的亲子关系,父母通常必须证明他们有生育孩子的协议。该协议通常必须采用书面形式。那么父母就被称为预期父母。预期父母同意作为孩子的父母受到法律约束。

什么是亲子关系?

亲子鉴定 类似于亲子关系。亲子关系是合法建立父亲与孩子关系的过程。

请注意:“亲子关系”一词现在在纽约使用得更广泛。您可能仍然听到“亲子关系”这个词。在本指南的其余部分中,通常将使用术语“亲子关系”。

如何确定亲子关系?

亲子关系可以通过三种方式确定:

  1. 通过婚姻: 已婚父母所生的孩子被推定为父母双方的孩子。对于同性伴侣来说也是如此。您不必在法庭上证明亲子关系。
  2. 通过签署亲子关系确认书 (AOP): AOP 是未婚父母签署的一份表格,用于合法确定孩子的父母身份。 AOP 是 自主性。这意味着父母双方必须自愿签署该表格。您通常在孩子出生时在医院签署 AOP。
  3. 通过上法庭: 您可以通过提交亲子关系或亲子关系在家事法院建立亲子关系 请愿 并获得一份命令,表明您是合法父母。请愿书是书面请求。

亲子鉴定申请和亲子鉴定申请有什么区别?

在家庭法院,亲子鉴定申请通常用于确定父亲(例如亲生父亲)的亲子关系。建立亲子关系的命令称为 血缘关系顺序。在此类案件中,如果您和另一方父母不知道或不同意孩子的父亲是谁,法院可能会下令 脱氧核糖核酸测试。 DNA 测试也称为遗传标记测试。如果 DNA 检测结果至少为 95% 呈阳性,法院将发布亲子关系令。

亲子关系申请可用于其他情况,例如通过辅助生殖或代孕出生的孩子。建立亲子关系的命令通常称为 判断 出身.

如果您不确定使用哪一份请愿书或有疑问,请联系家庭法律护理中心或咨询经验丰富的律师。

谁可以申请亲子鉴定或亲子关系?

亲子关系或亲子关系申请可以由以下人员提出:

  • 孩子的父母之一;
  • 孩子的照顾者;
  • 孩子(尽管这通常只适用于年龄较大的孩子);
  • 捐献精子、卵子或胚胎的人;
  • 充当代理人的人;或者
  • 一个机构,例如社会服务部 (DSS)。如果孩子的照顾者接受公共援助并将孩子列入预算,则 DSS 将申请亲子抚养费和子女抚养费。

为什么我需要确定亲子关系?

当亲子关系确定后,您就成为孩子的合法父母。这意味着您拥有父母的所有权利和责任:

  • 您有权提出监护权和探视权申请。
  • 当有关于您孩子的某些家庭法庭案件时,您有权随时收到通知,例如监护权、探视权、虐待儿童或忽视案件。
  • 在您的孩子被收养之前,您可能需要同意(除非您的父母权利被终止)。
  • 您有责任在经济上支持您的孩子。这意味着您可能会被勒令支付子女抚养费。
  • 如果您去世或残疾,您的孩子还可能获得某些福利,例如社会保障、工伤赔偿、退伍军人福利或您的遗产。

我在哪里申请亲子关系?

您可以向家庭法院或最高法院申请亲子关系。在家庭法院对任何子女抚养、监护或探视案件作出裁决之前,必须先确定亲子关系。在家庭法庭,法学家将审理您的案件。法学家是法官、裁判员或辅助治安法官。他们在家庭法庭做出决定。通常支持治安法官会听取或聆听您的亲子关系案件。支持治安法官类似于法官,有权就子女抚养费和亲子关系做出决定。

如果出现以下情况,您可以在最高法院确定亲子关系:

  • 你要离婚了;
  • 有孩子;和
  • 之前从未在家庭法庭审理过监护权、探视权或子女抚养费案件。

我什么时候可以申请亲子关系?

一般来说,从母亲怀孕到孩子年满 21 岁期间,您可以随时向家庭法院申请亲子关系。孩子年满 21 岁后,您可能需要向代理人法院或最高法院申请亲子关系。

请注意:如果是辅助生殖,您可以在孩子出生前请求进行亲子鉴定。然后,您必须提交一份表格,通知法院孩子的出生情况。判决仅生效 孩子出生了。

我与我孩子的母亲合法结婚。我还需要确定亲子关系吗?

不会。如果您和父母另一方在孩子出生时已合法结婚,那么你们都自动被视为合法父母。这被称为 假定 合法性。您不必在法庭上证明亲子关系。例如,已婚妇女的丈夫自动被视为其孩子的合法父亲。请注意,合法性推定也适用于同性伴侣。

合法性推定还意味着即使孩子不是您的亲生孩子,您也可以被视为孩子的合法父母。您可以通过证明母亲怀孕时您不在场来质疑法庭上的合法性推定。例如,如果您被监禁或在海外军队服役。证明这一点可能很复杂。如果您有疑问,请联系家庭法律服务中心或咨询律师。

我签署了一份亲子关系确认书。有办法撤销这个吗?

在签署亲子关系确认书 (AOP) 表后的前 60 天内,您或另一方家长可以向家庭法院提交请愿书,要求 腾出 表格。腾出就是取消的意思。您可以以任何理由提出搬出请愿书。

60 天后,只有当您能够证明以下三件事之一时,法院才能撤销 AOP 表格:

  • 欺诈罪;
  • 胁迫;或者
  • 材料 错误 事实

欺诈是指有人故意欺骗您签署表格。胁迫是指有人非法威胁或非法迫使您签署表格。重大事实错误意味着存在严重误解导致您签署该表格。

出生证明上有我的名字。我还需要确定亲子关系吗?

或许。如果您的名字出现在出生证明上,但 1) 您在孩子出生时并未与父母另一方结婚,或者 2) 您没有签署 AOP 表格,则亲子关系尚未确定。您需要签署 AOP 表格或向家庭法院提交亲子关系申请。

我相信我是一个孩子的父亲,但我不想上法庭。我能做些什么?

您可以报名参加 推定父亲登记处。推定父亲登记处是未婚父母所生子女的父亲的机密记录。登记处包括以下父亲的姓名和地址:

  • 提交了声明亲子关系的通知;
  • 承认孩子的父亲身份;或者
  • 被法院判定为孩子的父亲

将您的名字登记在登记处并不等同于确定亲子关系。登记处是确保您收到涉及纽约州儿童的某些类型案件的通知的一种方式。其他州也有自己的推定父亲登记处。如果母亲住在另一个州,您也许可以在该州注册登记。如果您不确定自己是孩子的父亲,您可以向家庭法院提交亲子鉴定申请。

我不确定我是否是孩子的父亲。我可以从法庭获得 DNA 测试吗?

有时。在亲子鉴定案件中,您可以在法庭上要求进行 DNA 测试。如果 DNA 测试结果至少为 95% 呈阳性,那么法院将发布亲子关系令。如果不符合孩子的最大利益,法院不会下令进行 DNA 测试。这称为衡平法上的禁止反言。请参阅下面的详细信息。

我做了DNA测试,但没有通过法庭。法庭可以使用DNA测试来证明亲子关系吗?

不会。在法庭外私下进行的测试(例如药房的测试)不会被接受。 可以接受的 在法庭上。可接受的意思是可接受的或有效的。为了获得受理,法庭必须下令进行 DNA 测试。

法院可以拒绝下令进行 DNA 检测吗?

是的。如果法院发现以下情况,法院不得在亲子关系案件中下令进行 DNA 检测: 衡平法上的禁止反言 适用。如果您一直担任孩子的父母并且孩子承认您是他们的父母,公平禁止反言可以防止您质疑亲子关系。即使您不是孩子的亲生父母也是如此。

法院可能会举行听证会,以确定衡平法上的禁止反言是否适用于您的案件。法院主要关注的是 儿童的最大利益。儿童的最大利益是法院做出有关儿童的决定的标准。法院可以使用公平禁止反言来保护已经存在的父子关系。公平禁止反言可能适用的例子包括孩子称呼您“爸爸”或您为孩子提供支持。每个案例都不同。

如果您的案件涉及衡平法禁止反言,法院可能会指派一名律师代表您的孩子,称为“律师” 儿童律师(AFC)。法院还可以免费为您指派一名律师。这取决于您的收入。

衡平法上的禁止反言可能会很复杂。如果您有任何疑问,请联系 Family Legal Care 或咨询律师。

谁支付法庭下令进行的 DNA 检测费用?

一般来说,要求进行 DNA 检测的人需要付费。但是,法院也可能会在您和另一方家长之间分摊测试费用。这取决于您的支付能力。

如果我拒绝接受法院命令的 DNA 检测怎么办?

如果您拒绝接受法庭命令的 DNA 测试,法庭可以签发一份 默认订单 针对你。缺席命令是当某人未出庭时发出的命令。当有人不参与案件或不按照法院要求行事时,法院还可以发布缺席命令。

我可以请一名免费律师代表我处理我的案件吗?

或许。如果你是 受访者 在亲子关系案件中,法院可以免费为您指定或指派一名律师。被告是未提起此案的人。您可能会被要求提供有关您收入的信息,以便法院确定您是否符合经济条件。

我处于 LGBTQ+ 关系中。我们还需要去家庭法庭为我们的孩子确定亲子关系吗?

或许。合法性推定也适用于同性伴侣。如果您的孩子出生时您和父母另一方已合法结婚,则您无需上法庭来确定亲子关系。您和另一位家长将自动被视为孩子的合法父母。

如果您的孩子出生时您尚未与父母另一方合法结婚,则您必须以其他方式确定亲子关系。使用辅助生殖或代孕的同性伴侣可以采取某些步骤来确定亲子关系。您可以签署“亲子关系确认书”或向家庭法院提交亲子关系请愿书。

欲了解更多信息,请参阅家庭法律关怀指南“家庭法庭中 LGBTQ 权利.”

本文件不应取代与律师的咨询。家庭法律关怀鼓励所有涉及刑事和家庭法院系统的个人咨询律师。

从 Family Legal Care 获取更新

The Pay if Off Program can double the value of child support payments made to NYC DSS from March 1-15:
escape Click the X/Escape button at any time to leave familylegalcare.org immediately. You will be redirected to google.com.

Parentage & Paternity

Definitions of key terms

Parentage is the legal status of being a parent.

Paternity is the legal status of being a father.

Establishing parentage is the process for determining the legal parents of a child.

Judgment of parentage is a court order establishing the legal parent of a child.

Order of filiation is a court order establishing the legal father of a child.

Assisted reproduction refers to methods of having a child other than sexual intercourse, such as surrogacy or in vitro fertilization (IVF).

Intended parent is a person who intends to be a legal parent of a child born through assisted reproduction.

What is parentage?

Parentage refers to the process that legally establishes a parent’s relationship to their child. New York law now recognizes there are many ways to start a family. In New York, parents who use assisted reproduction may now establish parentage. Assisted reproduction refers to methods of having a child other than sexual intercourse, such as surrogacy or in vitro fertilization (IVF). The law now allows married and unmarried couples, parents of both same- and different-sex relationships, and single parents to get a court order stating that they are the legal parents of a child.

For the court to establish parentage for unmarried parents who use assisted reproduction, the parents generally must show that they had an agreement to have a child. This agreement typically must be in writing. The parents are then known as intended parents. An intended parent agrees to be legally bound as the parent of the child.

What is paternity?

Paternity is similar to parentage. Paternity is the process that legally establishes a father’s relationship to their child.

Please note: The term parentage is now used more widely in New York. You may still hear the term paternity. For the remainder of this guide, the term parentage will generally be used.

How do I establish parentage?

Parentage can be established in three ways:

  1. Through marriage: A child born to married parents is presumed to be the child of both parents. This is true for same-sex couples. You do not have to establish parentage in court.
  2. By signing the Acknowledgment of Parentage (AOP): The AOP is a form that unmarried parents sign to legally establish the child’s parents. The AOP is voluntary. This means that both parents must sign the form of their own free will. You typically sign the AOP at the hospital when your child is born.
  3. By going to court: You can establish parentage in Family Court by filing a paternity or parentage petition and getting an order stating that you are the legal parent. A petition is a written request.

What is the difference between a petition for paternity and a petition for parentage?

In Family Court, a paternity petition generally is used to establish paternity for a father, such as a biological father. An order establishing paternity is called an order of filiation. In these types of cases, if you and the other parent do not know or agree on who the father of a child is, the court may order a DNA test. A DNA test is also called a Genetic Marker test. If the DNA test comes back as at least 95% positive, the court will issue the order of filiation.

A parentage petition may be used in other situations, such as when a child is born through assisted reproduction or surrogacy. An order establishing parentage is typically called a judgment of parentage.

If you are not sure which petition to use or have questions, contact Family Legal Care or speak to an experienced lawyer.

Who can file for paternity or parentage?

A petition for paternity or parentage may be filed by:

  • Either parent of the child;
  • The child’s caregiver;
  • The child (although this usually applies only to older children);
  • The person who donates sperm, an egg, or embryo;
  • The person acting as a surrogate; or
  • An agency, such as the Department of Social Services (DSS). DSS will file for parentage and child support if the child’s caregiver receives public assistance and lists the child on the budget.

Why do I need to establish parentage?

When parentage is established, you become a child’s legal parent. This means that you have all the rights and responsibilities of a parent:

  • You have the right to file petitions for custody and visitation.
  • You have the right to be notified any time there are certain Family Court cases about your child, such as a custody, visitation, child abuse, or neglect case.
  • You may be required to consent before your child can be adopted (unless your parental rights are terminated).
  • You have the responsibility to support your child financially. This means you may be ordered to pay child support.
  • Your child may also be able to receive certain benefits like Social Security, workers’ compensation, veterans’ benefits, or an inheritance from you if you pass away or become disabled.

Where do I file for parentage?

You may file for parentage in Family Court or Supreme Court. Parentage must be established before any child support, custody, or visitation case can be decided in Family Court. In Family Court, a jurist will hear your case. A jurist is a judge, referee, or support magistrate. They make decisions in Family Court. Often a support magistrate will hear, or listen to, your parentage case. A support magistrate is similar to a judge and has the power to make decisions about child support and parentage.

You may be able to establish parentage in Supreme Court if:

  • You are getting a divorce;
  • Have children; and
  • Have not had a custody, visitation, or child support case before in Family Court.

When can I file for parentage?

In general, you can file for parentage in Family Court any time from when the mother is pregnant up to when the child turns 21 years old. After the child turns 21, you may have to file for parentage in Surrogate’s Court or Supreme Court.

Please note: In the case of assisted reproduction, you can request a judgment of parentage before the child is born. You must then file a form to notify the court of the child’s birth. The judgment will only take effect after the child is born.

I am legally married to my child’s mother. Do I still need to establish parentage?

No. If you and the other parent are legally married at the time the child is born, then you are both automatically considered to be the legal parents. This is called the presumption of legitimacy. You do not have to establish parentage in court. For example, a married woman’s husband is automatically presumed to be the legitimate father of her children. Note that the presumption of legitimacy applies to same-sex couples too.

The presumption of legitimacy also means that you can be considered the legal parent of a child even if the child is not biologically yours. You can challenge the presumption of legitimacy in court by proving that you were not available when the mother became pregnant. Examples may be if you were incarcerated or serving in the military overseas. Proving this can be complicated. Contact Family Legal Care or speak with a lawyer if you have questions.

I signed an Acknowledgment of Parentage form. Is there a way to undo this?

Within the first 60 days of signing the Acknowledgment of Parentage (AOP) form, either you or the other parent can file a petition in Family Court to vacate the form. Vacate means to cancel. You can file a petition to vacate for any reason.

After 60 days, the court can only vacate the AOP form if you can prove one of three things:

  • Fraud;
  • Duress; or
  • Material mistake of fact

Fraud means that someone intentionally tricked you into signing the form. Duress means that someone illegally threatened or illegally pressured you into signing the form. A material mistake of fact means that there was a serious misunderstanding that led you to sign the form.

My name is on the birth certificate. Do I still have to establish parentage?

Maybe. If your name is on the birth certificate but either 1) you were not married to the other parent when the child was born or 2) you did not sign the AOP form, parentage has not been established. You will need to either sign the AOP form or file for parentage in Family Court.

I believe I am the father of a child, but I do not want to go to court. What can I do?

You can sign up for the Putative Father Registry. The Putative Father Registry is a confidential record of fathers of children born to unmarried parents. The Registry includes names and addresses of fathers who either:

  • Filed a notice to claim paternity;
  • Acknowledged paternity of a child; or
  • Were determined by a court to be the father of a child

Putting your name on the Registry is not the same as establishing parentage. The Registry is a way to make sure that you receive notice about certain kinds of cases involving the child in New York State. Other states have their own putative father registries. If the mother lives in another state, you may be able to sign up for the registry in that state. If you are not sure that you are the father, you can file a petition for paternity in Family Court.

I am not sure if I am the father of a child. Can I get a DNA test from court?

Sometimes. In a paternity case, you may request a DNA test in court. If the DNA test comes back at least 95% positive, then the court will enter an order of filiation. The court will not order a DNA test if it is not in the best interests of the child. This is known as equitable estoppel. See below for more information.

I took a DNA test, but it was not through the court. Can the court use this DNA test to prove parentage?

No. A test that is done privately outside of court, such as a test from a pharmacy, will not be admissible in court. Admissible means acceptable or valid. To be admissible, a DNA test must be ordered by the court.

Can the court refuse to order a DNA test?

Yes. The court may not order a DNA test in a parentage case if the court finds that equitable estoppel applies. Equitable estoppel can prevent you from challenging parentage if you have been acting as the child’s parent and the child recognizes you as their parent. This is true even if you are not the child’s biological parent.

The court may hold a hearing to see if equitable estoppel applies in your case. The court is mainly concerned with what is in the best interests of the child. The best interests of the child is the standard that the court uses to make decisions about a child. The court can use equitable estoppel to protect the father-child relationship that is already in place. Examples of when equitable estoppel might apply are if the child calls you “dad” or if you provide support for the child. Every case is different.

If equitable estoppel comes up in your case, the court may assign a lawyer to represent your child, known as an attorney for the child (AFC). The court may also assign you a lawyer at no cost to you. This depends on your income.

Equitable estoppel can be complicated. Contact Family Legal Care or speak to a lawyer if you have any questions.

Who pays for a court-ordered DNA test?

In general, the person who asks for the DNA test will be required to pay for it. However, the court may also split the cost of the test between you and the other parent. This depends on your ability to pay.

What if I refuse to take a court-ordered DNA test?

If you refuse to take a court-ordered DNA test, the court can issue a default order against you. A default order is an order that is made when someone does not show up to court. A court can also make a default order when someone does not participate in the case or do what the court asks.

Can I get a free lawyer to represent me in my case?

Maybe. If you are the respondent in a parentage case, the court may appoint, or assign, you a lawyer at no cost to you. The respondent is the person who did not start the case. You may be asked to give information about your income so the court can determine if you are financially eligible.

I am in an LGBTQ+ relationship. Do we still need to go to Family Court to establish parentage for our child?

Maybe. The presumption of legitimacy applies to same-sex couples too. If you and the other parent were legally married when your child was born, you do not have to go to court to establish parentage. You and the other parent will automatically be considered the legal parents of the child.

If you were not legally married to the other parent when your child was born, you will have to establish parentage another way. Same-sex couples who use assisted reproduction or a surrogate can take certain steps to establish parentage. You may either sign the Acknowledgment of Parentage form or file a petition for parentage in Family Court.

For more information, see Family Legal Care’s guide “LGBTQ Rights in Family Court.”

This document should not take the place of a consultation with a lawyer. Family Legal Care encourages all individuals involved with the Criminal and Family Court systems to consult with a lawyer.

Get updates from Family Legal Care